December 2, 2014

Love Cycles by Linda Carroll

Love Cycles by Linda Carroll helps us to understand the different love cycles that we all go through with those we love. This is helpful for everyone to understand who is in a relationship or wants to be in one.

Book Description
In Love Cycles, veteran couples therapist Linda Carroll presents a groundbreaking model of the five natural stages of romantic relationships — the Merge, Doubt and Denial, Disillusionment, Decision, and Wholehearted Love — and a guide for navigating through them toward lasting love. Love Cycles helps readers understand where they are in the cycle of their relationship and provides a clear strategy for how to stay happy and committed, even in difficult times.” – Love Cycles

My Thoughts
Love Cycles is a book that is great for anyone who wants to make their love genuinely last. The author understands the challenges that couples have in their relationship and how each stage or cycle they are in can make a relationship stronger.

The “Merge” cycle is where it all starts, this is similar to what I would have called the “honeymoon” phase. What comes next is not so fun though, it is the “Doubt and Denial” cycle which is where a lot of people give up on their relationship. This doesn’t have to happen though, and can actually make the relationship stronger – if you know how to handle it. Same goes for the “Disillusionment” phase. The “Decision” phase is where people decide what the future holds for the relationship (if it has lasted this long). From there is where the goal is – the “Wholehearted Loving” cycle.

Overall, I think this is a very insightful book about how to become our best self in a relationship to have a truly fulfilling and loving relationship with another. I highly recommend it.

* Thank you to the publisher of Love Cycles, New World Library, for providing me with a copy of this book for review. All opinions expressed are my own.

No comments: