July 12, 2012

Size 12 and Ready to Rock by Meg Cabot

Size 12 and Ready to Rock by Meg Cabot is the new “Heather Wells” mystery that has Heather Wells being an assistant residence hall director at New York College. Quite a big step down from being a pop star, but she is handling it with as much pride as she can muster, especially since her ex just married her pop star replacement.

Book Description
Summer break . . . and the livin' ain't easy!

Just because the students at New York College have flown the coop doesn't mean assistant residence hall director Heather Wells can relax. Fischer Hall is busier than ever, filled with squealing thirteen- and fourteen-year-old girls attending the first ever Tania Trace Teen Rock Camp, hosted by pop sensation Tania Trace herself—who just happens to be newly married to Heather's ex-boyfriend, heartthrob Jordan Cartwright. But the real headache begins when the producer of a reality TV show starring Tania winds up dead . . . and it's clear that the star was the intended victim.

Grant Cartwright, head of Cartwright Records, wants to keep his daughter-in-law (and his highest-earning performer) alive. So he hires his oldest son, black sheep of the family and private investigator Cooper Cartwright—who just happens to be Heather's new fiancé. Heather should leave the detecting to Cooper. But with a dorm full of hysterical mini-divas-in-training, she can't help but get involved. And after Tania shares a really shocking secret with her, this reality suddenly becomes more dangerously real than anyone ever anticipated.” – Size 12 and Ready to Rock

My Thoughts
Size 12 and Ready to Rock is a part of the “Heather Wells” mystery books. Meg Cabot does a good job catching up a new reader to the series though, so reading the previous books is not necessary before reading this one.

Heather Wells is a size 12 character that is fun and honest. She is a character I really like, and found to be the most interesting part of the book. The other characters didn’t do much for me, especially the pop star Tania Trace and her reality TV show for a rock camp.

Before reading this book, I had never read of or heard of any of the “Heather Wells” mystery books. I really like the character of Heather Wells, and think that any main character that is size 12 or higher is great for self-esteem issues of girls and women. Meg Cabot writes extremely well, and I’m sure there is a very large fan base for this series. However, this series is just not for me. I found it to be a bit predictable and an odd mixture of after school special meets reality TV.

Although this isn’t a book I enjoyed overall, I do think that many teens and younger adults will enjoy this series. I could see it being a perfect read for fans of American Idol, and MTV reality shows.

* Thank you to the publisher of Size 12 and Ready to Rock, William Morrow, for providing me with a copy of this book for review. All opinions expressed are my own.


Anonymous said...

This sounds like a fun book!

Anonymous said...

I read another book of hers and LOVED it so I will be getting this one too!